What’s included in Day One Premium?
Unlimited journals, unlimited photo storage, up to 30 photos per entry, 25% off book orders (US only—international users will get this as soon as we support international shipping), the Mac app (a $49.99 value), and more. Day One Premium users also have exclusive access to all future features including: audio recording, writing prompts, video entries, and more.
What can I do with Day One?
Using Day One provides ongoing, daily benefits, including (but not limited to): memory-augmentation, gratitude, goal-setting, life-logging, deeply personal self-reflection, and countless warm-fuzzies.
Where can I purchase Day One Premium and how much does it cost?
The Day One Premium subscription costs $3.99/month or $34.99/year (USD), available via in-app purchase.
Are you giving a discount for previously paid users of Day One 2.0?
Yes, paid-app users of 2.0 get a lifetime discount for $2.99/month or $24.99/year (USD), available via in-app purchase.
Why are you changing to a subscription?
In short, Day One Premium provides the steady, reliable income needed to maintain and grow the Day One platform. It pays for customer support, QA, maintenance, bug-fixes, and development of new features. Recurring revenue from this subscription ensures the Day One Team will continue to provide the level of quality and reliability you've come to expect from us.
I've subscribed to Premium. How do I request a feature?
Thanks for supporting us! We love feature requests and have a great track record of developing and releasing what people ask for. Send your feature requests to our support team!
How do I know you can keep my data safe? What kind of security features does Day One Premium offer?
Day One Premium offers users end-to-end encryption. For more information about how we keep your data secure, check out our Encryption FAQ.
When will Web and Android apps be available? How do they fit into the subscription?
Day One Web is currently available as a beta, and provides the ability to read your journal data from many web browsers (Chrome, Firefox, and Safari 10.2). Editing and other features are coming in a future update.
Day One Android is available now on the Google Play Store.
If you subscribe to Day One Premium, you'll unlock Premium features on all current and future platforms, including web.
I already paid for Day One last year and I don’t want to pay for a subscription. Am I going to lose features?
No, you will not lose features. All 2.0 features remain available for purchasers of the 2.0 apps. Day One Classic users are also unaffected, though this version is no longer being updated. All Day One 2.0 users will continue to receive maintenance and non-Premium updates, as needed.
What happens to my data if I cancel my subscription?
Your data is unaffected by canceling your subscription. You can view, edit, and create entries, and otherwise use all the features of the version of the app you originally downloaded (if you were Basic you'll have that again; if you were Plus you'll have that again).
If you have more than one journal and cancel your subscription, the additional journals are visible and their entries are editable, but you can't add new entries to these journals.
What is a Basic account?
If you downloaded Day One after June 28th, 2017, you have a Basic account. Basic accounts are limited to one photo per entry, one journal, no cloud services, and no access to other Premium features.
My device says Account Status: Plus. What does that mean?
It means you purchased Day One (version 2.0 or later) before June 28, 2017, and so you get access to all the features you already paid for. These include ten photos per entry, ten journals, Day One Cloud services (sync, IFTTT, and end-to-end encryption), and so forth. Because this is based on your purchase history, it's possible you could see this status on an iOS device but not your Mac (or vice versa).
I am supposed to be Plus, why did I lose my features?
Please use Day One > Settings > Advanced > Restore Purchases to restore functionality. If that does not work, here are some other steps for restoring Plus.
Plus status is device specific, meaning, it only applies to the platform you purchased Day One on (Mac, iOS, or both).
Can I use Family Sharing with a subscription?
Apple doesn't currently support sharing in-app purchases (see: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT203046). As a workaround, you can sign in on other devices with the Apple ID used to make the subscription purchase. This will allow you to restore the subscription purchase in Day One on those other devices.
What’s next from the Day One team?
Coming soon for Premium users
- Audio Recording
- Writing Prompts and Guided Journaling