Enabling Day One Sync

iOS

  1. In Day One go to Settings > Sync.
  2. Toggle on Day One Sync.
  3. If you are not currently logged into a Day One account (previously used with Day One's Publish service) you will need to log in. If you have never created a Day One account, create an account.
  4. After logging in, your data will be uploaded for syncing to your devices.

Mac

  1. Go to Preferences > Sync.
  2. Click the Use Day One Sync... button to enable Day One.
  3. Log into your Day One account. If you've used Day One's Publish service (available on iOS), use the same login information. If you have not previously created a Day One account, click the "create an account" link above the login fields.
  4. After logging in, your data will be uploaded for syncing to your devices.

Troubleshooting Tips

Day One Sync doesn't appear as an option in Settings > Sync (iOS) or Preferences > Sync (Mac)

Day One Sync was added May 14 2015, in v1.17 (iOS) and 1.10 (Mac). Please ensure that you  have have updated to the latest version. If one of your devices doesn't support these updates, please kindly choose a different sync service.

Day One Sync never seems to finish uploading my data.

After enabling sync on each of your devices, your data will be uploaded for syncing. The exact amount of time to initially upload your data varies based on the size of your journal and the speed of your device and Internet connection.

I have a new device. How do I get my data on my new device?

If you get any new devices in the future, simply enable Day One Sync, then your data will be downloaded to these devices.

Whenever I disable and re-enable Day One Sync, all my data is uploaded and downloaded again even though all my data is already on my device. Why?

As part of the process of ensuring all your entries are stored and synced, Day One Sync will upload your data again. This process only involves your text data; photos are not uploaded again.

Did this answer your question?