Day One 2 supports two backup methods—local and iCloud device—and one method for sync—Day One Sync.
Your data is all stored locally on each device where Day One is installed. If you use Day One Sync, data is also stored on the server.
Backup and Restore Options in Day One
Backups are used to safeguard your data from loss. If you lose your phone or have a problematic iOS update, backups are useful for restoring your data to your device(s).
The following backup methods are available:
- iCloud Device Backups. Available on iPhone or iPad. Restore your phone using iCloud device backups which will keep your Day One data intact (text and photos) and all your preferences preserved. Learn more: Backing up Day One data to iCloud
- Restore from local Day One backups. These would be useful if you accidentally removed data and wanted it back, or if something got messed up. It's basically a way to roll back to an earlier point. These are not meant for restoring data from a different device or after a device has been restored/erased. Learn more: Backups in Day One (2.x). Please read the guide carefully when choosing this option.
- Users can also manually backup their data by exporting to JSON. JSON files can be re-imported to Day One and include text, images, and audio files. Please see here: Exporting entries. There are other export options available like PDF and Plain Text.
Available for Plus (grandfathered) and Premium users
Sync keeps data up-to-date across multiple devices and manages conflicts. Sync is primarily used if you use Day One on multiple devices (iPhone, iPad, and/or Mac). Day One supports syncing data to as many devices as you'd like. Day One Sync stores your journal in the cloud and is easily re-downloaded when you log in to your account on a new phone. That being said, it is not technically a backup option. Simply download Day One and sign into your account. To verify your synced data, see here.
Note: The Day One app does not require an Internet connection to use it. All data is stored locally, so you have access to your information at any time. You can create and edit entries on multiple devices while offline and all the data will merge together properly once you are back online.