Day One 2.0 and later supports two backup methods—manual and iCloud device—and one method for sync—Day One Sync.
Your data is all stored locally on each device where Day One is installed. If you use Day One Sync, data is also stored on the server.
For help transitioning to a new device, see this guide: Transitioning Day One data to a new device
Backup and Restore Options in Day One
Backups are used to safeguard your data from loss. If you lose your phone or have a problematic iOS update, backups are useful for restoring your data to your device(s).
The following backup methods are available:
- iCloud Device Backups. Available on iPhone or iPad. Restore your phone using iCloud device backups which will keep your Day One data intact (text and photos) and all your preferences preserved. These are automatic backups made once per day to your iCloud account. Learn more: Backing up Day One data to iCloud
- Users can also manually back up their data by exporting to JSON. JSON files can be re-imported to Day One and include text, images, and audio files. Please see here: Exporting entries. There are other export options available like PDF and Plain Text.
Available for Plus (grandfathered) and Premium users
Sync keeps data up-to-date across multiple devices. Sync is primarily used if you use Day One on multiple devices (iPhone, iPad, and/or Mac). Day One supports syncing data to as many devices as you'd like. Day One Sync stores your journal in the cloud and is easily re-downloaded when you log in to your account on a new phone. Simply download Day One and sign into your account. To verify your synced data, see here.
Sync is enabled automatically in version 4.2 and later. If an account was not previously created, users are signed in automatically using the option to sign in with Apple ID. See here: Using Apple ID with Day One Sync. Journals not previously synced are synced with end-to-end encryption enabled.
Note: The Day One app does not require an Internet connection to use it. All data is stored locally (unless Optimize Device Storage is enabled), so you have access to your information at any time. You can create and edit entries on multiple devices while offline and all the data will merge together properly once you are back online.